Diocese of Stockton

Categorized Under: Churches

The Diocese is comprised of six counties: San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Calaveras, Tuolumne, Alpine, and Mono. It covers over 10,000 square miles with a total population of over 1.3 million people. There are 85 active priests that service thirty-five parishes and fourteen missions. The Diocese of Stockton was formed on January 13, 1962 on Californian territories split off from the Archdiocese of San Francisco and from the Diocese of Sacramento. The Diocese of Stockton’s mission is to fulfill full, active, conscious participation in the mission and life of their Church.